SCHOOL. I think..

So school is starting. Isn’t that great? Everybody goes and gets their education. I suppose that I shall attend college again this fall… I start class this upcoming Monday. My degree is questionable because I’m not sure that it’s what I want to do… A class in CIS (computer information systems) is fun and all, but I don’t want to spend my life “crunching numbers”. The only reason that I would take the class is so that I would be qualified to tutor other students. But since I’ve already completed a previous class in the same area, there’s really no need to when I can just tutor on the 101 instead of 102. At my college it’s labelled differently, but it’s basically the same thing.

So, basically, I don’t know what I want to do yet. A lot of people say all the time, “it’s okay to not know what you want yet! You can just choose later!” Well I think that this line of thinking is a great way to set yourself up for failure. It’s exactly like procrastination, except on an academic level. Don’t worry about it, you’ll think of it at some point. Perfect. So when I get my degree in CIS then I’ll just be as happy as a lark, right? I’m not even sure when my degree became CIS. It used to be CIT (computer information technician). Those two are very different. The latter is more along the lines of using code like C++ or C# languages. These are not in CIS. CIS is actually using things produced by Microsoft, such as Access or Excel or Word. These programs are not for coding, they are for documentation and records. I do NOT want to be an accountant! I made that clear early on in my academic career.

So what do they start educating me as? An accountant. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the CIS class. I knew what I was doing, and I excelled at the work. But it wasn’t in line with what my goals were. I hope to be a computer technician of SOME SORT. It could be application development, game development, or even operating system development. Whatever it is I will be doing code languages like C#, C++, or even JAVA. I don’t really care. I enjoy learning new code languages, so that’s not a problem. I love sitting there and figuring out the logic, so that’s not an issue either. The only problem I can foresee might be finding a job in the line of work, but after some quick research you’ll find that it is a well-sought-after job by many companies. Mostly application (IOS and Android) development. But there are definitely many things to choose from.

So yeah. My major is NOT CIS. I’m hoping to change it to CIT.

Well, I guess I’ve talked your eyes out long enough. Hope you found this mildly entertaining at the very least! I’m not always this boring, promise! Just read my “Black is the new Orange… I mean… Um…. Oh
” and you’ll know what I’m talking about!

Oh, and here’s a random blot for you to stare at.

IMG_0016.PNG

Leave a Reply

